Bryn Terfel's Faenol Festival 2007






































Girls Aloud Shayne Ward Jamelia | Opera Gala | The Hills are Alive |Tân y Ddraig

Click here for The Girls Aloud Concert in photos
(Were you there? Did we take your photo?)


Girls Aloud are a British girl group created on ITV1 talent show Popstars: The Rivals in 2002. The group, consisting of Cheryl Cole, Nadine Coyle, Sarah Harding, Nicola Roberts and Kimberley Walsh, has gone on to become one of the most successful pop groups of the decade, with a record breaking fifteen consecutive Top 10 singles (including three number ones), four platinum albums (including a number one) and record sales in excess of 4 million in the UK alone, as well as Number One singles in Greece and Ireland.

Girls Aloud hold the record for the shortest time between forming and reaching number-one in the UK Charts (with their platinum-selling debut single "Sound Of The Underground"), and have since become one of the few reality television groups to have had continued success with Guinness World Records listing them as the Most Successful Reality TV Group in 2007. Their record of fifteen consecutive top ten singles is also unmatched by any other girl group beating the Spice Girls' previous record of ten.

For a contemporary pop group manufactured on reality television they have received unprecedented praise from broadsheet newspapers and the rock music press, with publications including the Observer Music Monthly, and the NME  giving their music rave reviews.

In September 2006, the official Girls Aloud's web site confirmed the release of The Sound of Girls Aloud — a compilation that contains Girls Aloud's singles and some new and unreleased material. The album was released on October 30, 2006 and on November 5, 2006 debuted at number one on the UK album chart. After a mere eight weeks it became the group's biggest selling album to date. The album was also released on a limited edition double CD format containing live tracks and previously unavailable tracks such as Singapore; this has now become a highly priced collectors item.

The lead single from the album was "Something Kinda Ooooh", which was released on October 16, 2006 on downloads, and October 23, 2006 on physical formats. Girls Aloud became the first British act to enter the top ten purely based on download sales with the song entering at number five. On its second week of release the single climbed two places to number three on the chart, later bettering the sales and chart run of that weeks number one from McFly.

The next single, "I Think We're Alone Now", a number-one hit in 1988 for Tiffany, was the third time the group enter the Christmas chart battle. The single charted at number fifty on downloads alone, based on downloads of the album version only. It then climbed to number four, making it Girls Aloud's fourteenth consecutive Top 10 and eleventh top five — more than any other girl group in UK chart history. The song is the official theme of the film It's a Boy Girl Thing.

Girls Aloud then collaborated with the Sugababes on their fifteenth single, a cover of the song "Walk This Way" by Aerosmith, later re-made by Run D.M.C.. The track was released on March 12, 2007 as the official single for Comic Relief, as "Girls Aloud vs. Sugababes". It became the group's third British number one, and their fifteenth consecutive top-ten single selling 52,000 copies in its first week.

In support of Comic Relief, Girls Aloud appeared in an advert for "Walk-ears" - an offering from Walkers Crisps to coincide with Red Nose Nose. Kimberley also visited Africa to see how money raised from the appeal was being used to help the children there. There were also several TV specials - Comic Relief does The Apprentice, which Cheryl took part in, and a Ready, Steady, Cook show featuring Nicola.

It was announced on Digital Spy on March 8, 2007 that the group will team up with British band Arctic Monkeys for a single later in the year.

Girls Aloud Shayne Ward Jamelia | Opera Gala | The Hills are Alive |Tân y Ddraig

Copyright© 2007
Website design by CaernarfonOnline